Our current way of life will have a very negative impact on future generations. Agree or disagree?

Some experts believe that as a world we are making it a better place for the future generations with all the advancements in technology and healthcare. All which will lead to a simpler and longer life. However, I personally believe that our current way of life will have a very negative impact on future generations. I will provide reasons for the same in the next three paragraphs.

Firstly, studies have proven that we are consuming a lot more non-renewable energy in the form of coal and petroleum than we are generating via sustainable means. We will have used up most of the earth’s resources by the time the future generation grows up. For instance, we can see this impact by the increment of gas prices. With less available resources and more demand, the prices have shot through the roof. Without a source of reliable energy, the cost of living will become too expensive. We need affordable energy to drive, to light up our houses, to cook, and so on. To add to this, these fuels also contribute to a lot of pollution and increase smog levels. This is important as clean air is an absolute neccessity for living and for maintaining good health. If we continue consuming harmful fuels, we will create a future where it is hard to breathe and too expensive to have electricity.

Secondly, social media has become a very important element of our lives. Every second of the day, we spend it online posting selfies, talking to others, making tweets, etc. However, social media has a harmful effect on our mental health. Statistics show that children these days are more depressed and anxious than the generation before them. Our mental health has taken a serious hit. For instance, everybody feels like they need to have the perfect body and the perfect skin texture. There are so many products that target these insecurities. So many people have developed eating disorders for example, and it has become the new normal. If this is the knowledge we are going to pass on to future generations, they are going to spend their lives chasing that perfect life which doesn’t exist.

Thirdly, though we have made tremendous progress in the food industry, fast food is still the favourite trend. Kids and adults alike love having burgers and pizzas. While they are very delicious, overtime they contribute to elevated cholesterol levels. In the long run, they can lead to obesity and health problems. Fast food is contuining to become more popular as it’s more affordable than leafy vegetables and other healthy items like quinoa and tofu for example. So more people rely on fast food for every meal. There was a case of a 40 year old having heart problems due to blocked arteries. Thus, having a balanced diet is very important for our physical and mental well being, otherwise it can lead to various deficiencies and other disastrous effects. This will impact the health of future generations, if they continue with this trend.

To conclude, it is a complex issue with points on both sides. While improvement in healthcare and education is extremely important and will improve the quality of life for future generations, I don’t think we are taking into consideration how constant consumption of fossil fuels is towards the environment, the negative impact of constant exposure to social media on our mental health and the disadvantages of fast food culture and heavy oil consumption towards our physical health.