Participating in organizations and clubs is as important as academic studies for students

Nowadays, many a parent ferries their children to extra classes when they are supposed to play football or volunteer in local communities, an attempt to improve children’s position in the queue for the best universities, and hence the best jobs. In their opinion, academic training deserves more attention than extracurricular activities. I disagree. I believe the latter plays a bigger role in students’ growth than the former.

Admittedly, academic study is vital for students/serves students well. It is the only when a high school student performs well in exams can they have the chance to further his academic pursuit in college. Similarly, big companies are less likely to recruit graduates who fail most of their major courses. However, it is an exaggeration to state that academic pursuit is the highest priority for students while extracurricular activities is secondary. It is never too late for people to pick up books and back to campus to continue their academic pursuit because they can attend college entrance examinations at any time they want, but if students are deprived of chances to engage in extracurricular activities such as Students Government, or drama club, they will lose something hard to be gained afterward.

First, extracurricular activities help to build skillsets essential for students’ future success. By running for president of the student government, a student learns to invent a catchy slogan and launch an aggressive campaign to win students’ votes, during which the student hones his communication skills and leadership. In order to win a football championship, a student may have to give up a good shooting opportunity to members who stand a bigger chance in an important match. At that moment, he can have a deeper understanding of cooperation. These valuable experiences and skills, which cannot be easily acquired by academic study because students often study alone to accomplish various assignments, hold the key to their success in future jobs, no matter they work as a programmer in a high-tech company or a lawyer fighting for social justice. It is because they all end up working with others. If they get cold feet in express themselves and find it hard to fit in with colleagues then, they may be left behind.

Second, by participating in those activities, students can expand their circle of friends. No matter participating in a football team, taking internships, or working in a student government, students are not alone. They can branch out and meet students from different grades, majors and backgrounds. Besides, the shared similar interests or passions with like-minded peers help friendships form effortlessly. For example, my best friend Jack was the football captain of my high school. When others taunted us about our dream to win the state championship, he always stepped in and boosted morale by giving us a pep talk. Therefore, whenever I bump into an obstacle, he is the one I can confide in. Clearly, if I only focused on academic study, I would have lost what a wonderful friend.

In a nutshell, participating in various activities is of greater importance than academic study.