Do you agree or disagree with the statement These days children spend more time on doing homework or participating in organized activities related to school or sports However they would be given more time to do whatever they want

It is a common phenomenon that nowadays children spend most of their time on studies or organized activities. Some people hold the view that children should have more free time to do things they like. However, I disagree with the statement.

To begin with, such homework and organized activities are vital to children’s future development. This is because such tasks are specially made for children to make them gain knowledge and build a strong body, and a good education background and health status will help them lay a solid foundation for the future. For example, by doing a certain amount of exercise about linear algebra at the end of a day, students will get a better understanding of the math theories that they learn at school, which can help them improve their academic performance; by joining an organized football club, children will have to run at the playground and pass the football to each other, which can make them exercise regularly and improve their physical health.

On the other hand, children are not supposed to do whatever they want with the extra time they are given to. Young students are not mature enough to make wise decisions for themselves on how to spend their leisure time, they will choose to spend the time they are given to on leisure activities and rest. To be specific, after having classes for an entire day, students often feel exhausted, only hoping to take a break or immerse into the internet. They may not want to open another exercise book to figure out more difficult mathematical problems or work out at a gym. Without making homework and organized activities compulsory, children who are not self-disciplined will not be able to get the hang of the knowledge that they receive at school and do enough exercise.

Admittedly, giving more time to children and letting them arrange their schedule are beneficial to them to some extent, since they will get a chance to figure out what they truly want and pursue their goals freely; however, the merit of giving students more time can not compare with those of making them spend their time on assignments and various activities.

In conclusion, it is not a good idea to give children more time and let them do want they want freely; instead, they should focus on their school work and all sorts or organized activities.