In the past young people depended on their parents for making decisions Today young people are better able to make decisionson their own

Making decision, an essential element in young people’s life, has been valued and even triggers heated discussions over how do current young people make decisions. Young people’s choices, in some people’s views, are dependent on their parents. Contrary to these people’s views is my perspective that, nowadays, young people tend to make decisions on their own, due to the benefits from academic learning and the up-to-date technology.

What should be prioritized is that making decisions independently, instead of following parents’ ideas, is beneficial for the youth, by facilitating getting a wide range of knowledge and cultivating personal quality. To begin with, it is making choices independently that facilitates the reception of a great deal of knowledge. In detail, one needs to review massive relevant materials to help him make the final decision, which enables young people to extract a great quantity of valuable knowledge from them; on the contrary, it is impossible for them to access numerous instructional meterials if they only depend on their parents’ opinions. Moreover, it is conducive for students to foster valuable personal qualities by making decisions on their own. To be specific, the more young people making independent decisions, the more likely they confront obstacles, such as the others’ judgements and prejudices, motivating them to be persistent; in contrast, does one need to stick on their own opinions if they completely follow their parents’ instructions?

What should be equally worth discussing is that the current state-of-the-art technology enables us to to be a independent decision-maker, instead of depending on parents’ instructions, by providing efficient search engines and social platforms. In the first place, it is the search engines that helps us solve puzzles when making decisions. To be specific, we can easily investigate a certain subject matter and get crucial information, such as the condition of the current stock market and food prices, by entering key words in the seach engines, enabling current teenagers to reduce information gap and make successful decisions; on the other hand, in the past, people do not have such tools helping them obtain information, so they are more likely to depend on their parents. What’s more, the current large-scale social medias also facilitate making independent decisions. To explain it further, with the emergence of such platforms, people are connected with each other, making it possible for individuals to consult with various experts who are excel in giving objective advice, and thus facilitating making decisions; on the contrary, several decades ago, how can people exploit such plaforms to conduct consulations about their decisions?

Academic learning ability, an vital ingredient in one’s skills, would be enhanced when making independent decisions. Cutting edge technologies also facilitate individuals to be an independent decision-maker. To conclude, compared with previous years, current young people are better able to make decision on their own.