People attend college or university for many different reasons (for example new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge).

Why do you think people attend college or university?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Education is the gate of a better future and numerous research concluded that people with higher education most likely to stay out of the prison, have no debt and have a better quality of life than someone who doesn’t have a diploma. One of the ways to get a higher education is to attend college or university.

Attending university is one of the human milestones. It gives people illusion about honor, prestige, and success, however, it also hides the dark side. College tuition rises every year and pushed the student to have enormous debt even before they graduate. The student loan is the heaviest burden that young adult can have. Even though in some country, college is free, the pressure to do well and to get higher GPA can lead a student to depression and in the severe case, suicide.

With all the trouble, why still so many people, including myself, would like to attend university? For me there are three major reasons, why I pursue a degree in university, instead get a job and gain experience from there. After all, school not the only way to gain skill and knowledge.

First, University offers advanced knowledge and skill like no other. When someone loves something you loved and doing it for almost 40 years, teach you his/her experienced. You can be sure, you will gain insight better than anyone else. I can’t think a better way to spend your youth than to learn from someone with that kind of expertise, with colleague that as passionate as you, and inside a facility where the only purpose is, to support you.

Second, it assists you reached your dream job. No one can deny that to be able to have a stable income or if you quite ambitious, 6 digits paycheck, you need a good job. A good job usually offered to the smartest, the most skillful, and the most competent people in your country. To compete with these folks, you need strong credentials. The guarantee for your ability is needed to persuade your employer. The diploma certificate from a prestigious university, usually gets the job done. Because it’s general knowledge that to attend a top university, especially “that” university, you must be smart and if you graduate with honors from the same university, you must be superman.

Third, the lifelong friendship you’ll get. It is not secret that connection helps you to rule the world. A thousand friends are not enough, but one enemy is too much. All the wise quotes about friends and relationships stated that later in your life, you will need help. The university is the best place to find it. Either you search business comrade or spouses, the university will give you time and place to meet and connect with other. The chance for you to be perfect for each other, are enormous since you both love the same thing in the first place.

In conclusion, despite all the troublesome, attending university will offer opportunities like no other. It will not warrant your future but it will give you foundation and skill to pursue something that you love. Human already proves by innovation and technology, we can make this world better and more sophisticated. The innovations that change the world usually started with a scholar who chases his/her dream.