People learn things from those at their own level – such as fellow students or co-workers – than from those at a higher level, such as teachers or supervisors

There is an ever-going debate on whether people pick things from their such counterparts as colleagues, and peers or someone from an upper level like a professor or supervisor at work. I believe that the things that people learn from their peers and co-workers are outnumber learning from a teacher or manager. I will explore my two reasons for this opinion throughout this essay.

To begin with, asking vague information or unclear part to a peer or to a colleague is easier. This is because since there are no hierarchical differences involved, people would be more comfortable to ask questions, even the one that they think are the dumbest questions. My very own experience would be a great example of this regard, when I was at the university, I found some classes were highly complex and had the struggle to follow the contents of these course for a long time. When I tried to ask my lecturers, I thought they were judgemental towards my questions and moreover, they were mainly criticizing my logical understanding. After a while, I started to ask my questions to the most successful student in my class, she was so nice to me and she was explaining all the misunderstanding parts to me, therefore, in the end, I was able to pass all these extremely complicated lecturers with high grades. If I would have continued to ask my questions to the professors rather than my fellow student friend, I could have ended up being not passed these mentioned courses.

Secondly, since it is quite difficult to find professors and managers to ask questions due to their busy schedules, learning things from them is not highly likely to be possible. Meanwhile, people spend a tremendous amount of work and school time with their colleagues and peers. For this very reason, getting new knowledge from them is easier than someone from higher levels of work or academic statue. For instance, one of my cousin when she started to work at her current law firm, she was so lost and confused in many situations. I remember listening from her office stories that her manager was never at the office, he was always travelling to find new clients for their law firm, therefore, when confusion occurred she always went her co-workers to get a clear understanding of the situation, as she is now head of the law firm, she always says that she owns her success to her co-workers and without their guidance, she would not have come to this possession.

To conclude, I believe that people learn new knowledge from their peers and co-workers rather than their professors or supervisors. This is because, asking questions to someone who has the same title as you is much more easier and since people from higher levels are generally quite busy with their own responsibilities it is not easy to find them available to learn.