Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People learn things better from those at their own level-such as fellow students or co-workers-than from those at a higher level, such as teachers or supervisors.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Education plays an important role in our lives. In the current world, it is the key factor to predict our future lives. Some people, I am sure would believe people learn things better from those at their own level-such as fellow students or co-workers rather than from high level, such as teachers or supervisors and others would deny the statement. I prefer the former statement and will provide two reasons of support why I feel that way in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, peers do influence us a lot. It is because we spend most of the time with them. For example, we generally make friends in the school, where we spend most of our times. As we become friends, we regularly spend time in the evening and as well as in the weekends pursuing our interests. This leads to starting point of resemblance. As we spend most of the time with our friends, we start to resemble and influence each other. Though teachers are essential, they are only confined to preach all must achieve success. Rather, they can not influence our core values because we do not spend most of the time with them. In contrast, when we have a studious friend, we start to imitate his features like studying on time, doing home works regularly, being attentive in the classes and many more.

Further, friends encourage a competitive environment. An intrinsic property of a human being is to do well than their friends in any aspect of live. This feature leads us to strive for it very hard and achieve desired goal. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. Back in my childhood, I had a friend who works very hard to top the class in examinations conducted by the school. As we were friends, I stared to resemble him and work hard for the examinations. I tried very hard to my fullest abilities like studying most of the time and reciting what I had read than ever before to crack score in examination above him. I did this inorder to get praised by my teachers and fellow friends and show what I am capable of. In contrast, teachers just provides the technical information required in a subject to be learnt by a student. Rather, they fail to encourage competition among students.

In conclusion, I support the statement that people learn better from their social equivalents rather than from higher levels such as teachers or supervisors. Not only does social peers influence us a lot, they does initiate feeling of competition in out minds which leads us to enhance in our lives.