People today are much better informed about international news than they were in the past

I believe we both get to know more about international news and have a better understanding of what is happening. Means of communication have improved a lot compared to what they used to be, and we have never been as eager to share or watch some news as today.

The development of mass printing technologies and the invention of the newspaper have already been a choice of cheap and instant news for over a century. Also, modern telecommunication systems made radio, TV, and the Internet possible. News is delivered with almost no delay, no matter how far away it took place. Furthermore, if not fulfilled by paper and screen, one could always take a trip if time permits. There are no better ways to understand what is going on than paying a visit. Thanks to advanced methods of transportation, jets and high-speed railways have made such an option viable nowadays.

News providers are motivated by globalization and international tourism. Countries establish state-owned or semi-public news agencies to share local news and help boost tourism among foreigners. They post views on various issues as well to gain advantages during diplomatic tensions or disputes by attracting viewers from other countries. The more familiar they get with the country, the more likely they are to empathize. Meanwhile, companies also find setting up private press departments more and more lucrative since it promotes overseas sales of their goods and services, and helps with downplaying PR issues after an incident.

Besides changes in the delivery and production of news, readers have evolved as well. On account of the general availability of public schools, most of the time we already have some basic knowledge of the historical and political background of an area before hearing about a piece of news happening there. Furthermore, the global market puts pressure on investors and people with jobs linked to a certain field to put efforts into grasping the latest news about it, whether domestic or international, to keep up and survive instead of getting outdated and falling behind.

Frankly speaking, among all kinds of information we receive every day, international news is not as indispensable as domestic food prices or local weather. The fact that we hear more and better about such news is due to factors of cost-effectiveness and motivation. Without modern technology, we would never receive them efficiently enough that we do not lose interest when we find them not directly related. Finally, we depend on international news to secure our jobs and/or consumers.