People who develop many different skills are more successful than people who focus on one skill only.

It’s hard to deny that people may develop multiple and exhilarating careers if they have many different skills, and such a fact may mislead impressionable people to generate the opinions that they will be more successful than people who focus on only one skill. However, such a statement suffers from both logical and factual fallacies, and it should be examined meticulously. As far as expertise, salary and career are concerned, I strongly hold that people who focus on one skill only can develop a more successful career.

First and foremost, expert geniuses are in great need by the society. According to the policies released by Chinese government, innovative geniuses in certain field are welcomed by the companies. If we focus on any of those geniuses, we can easily find out that they are all expert in their own field and few of them have further achievement in other academic areas. People who have outstanding achievement usually don’t have spare time on other things which indicates that people with multiple skills are usually not sophisticated. To say the least, even though they are skillful, they will probably have no space to show their skills.

In addition to that, average salary, as one of the basic elements to judge if someone is successful, is higher than people who do multiple jobs according to the researches done by Harvard. Let’s consider what reason can lead to this fact? It’s an unarguable fact that professionals always earn more than amateurs. Since people with multiple skills are more likely to be amateurs according to the second paragraph, they unsurprisingly earn less. We can straightforwardly reach the conclusion that people with only one expert skill are more inclined to succeed. The spirit of craftsmanship is a typical example of studying something to the extreme and finally succeeding.

Nevertheless, a voice arises that people with multiple skills can have relatively more wonderful career because they can experience different living styles. However, such a statement has a fatal flaw that it deliberately neglects the occupation stability. In Chinese culture, people always long for and pursue the life stability. Different living styles seem to be romantic while it is some kind fragile.

In a nutshell, I maintain my idea that people who focus on one skill only are more likely to succeed. Admittedly, as my favourite quote from James Madison goes, as long as the reason of man continues fallible, different opinions will be formed, and some people may oppose me. However, I believe they will compromise after being exposed to my article.