All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their study of field is.

It is hard to deny that learning world history seems to mean nothing to students majored in computer science may mislead impressionable people to generate the idea that not all university students should learn history courses. However, such a statement suffers from both logical and factual fallacies, and it should be examined meticulously. As far as course difficulty, global perspective, ethical value are concerned, I strongly hold that all college students should take history courses no matter what their study field is.

First and foremost, history classes are easy for students to pass and they are not students’ burden at all. From my own experience of learning history as a student majoring in computer science, teachers seldom launch homework in written form and most of them includes reading books. Teachers are more amiable and always give high scores. Almost no one will fail in the history courses in China as long as they come to class orderly. Since it is such an easy thing to learn history and get high scores, the point that history courses are painful should be buried.

Furthermore, the truth that learning history will broaden students’ horizon indicates that they can form a global perspective which is indispensable to their career. Take the case of Mao Zedong, the great leader of Chinese Communist Party, who has read Chinese ancient books of history and politic over and over, uses history as the ruler to give proper decision so that he always wins. He once said that learning history can not only make self-reflection and criticism but also foresee the future. Had it not been for Mao to read history and do self-reflection, he may never judge the right situation to China and never lead Chinese people to establish a better world.

Nevertheless, a voice arises that students majored in computer science won’t use any history in their work at all. However, such a statement neglects the most basic thing that a person’s work should be leaded by right value especially the right ethical value. Historical experience and the ending of historical figures can suggest what a person should be like in the society. History will somehow prevent people from committing crime and do the right things to be a better man.

In a nutshell, I maintain that all university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their study of field is. Admittedly, as my favourite quote from James Madison goes, as long as the reason of man continues fallible, different opinions will be formed, and someone may oppose me. However, I believe they will compromise after being exposed to my article.