Some people believe that smaller colleges and universities provide students with a better educational experience by, for example, offering more individual attention to each student. Other people believe that larger colleges and universities provide a better educational experience.

It’s hard to deny that students have less competitions to get resources in smaller colleges than in larger universities, and such a fact may mislead to ingenuous people to generate the opinion that smaller colleges and universities provide students with a better educational experience. However, such a statement suffers from both logical and factual fallacies, and it should be examined meticulously. As far as atmosphere, quality of education, resources are concerned, I strongly hold that larger colleges provide a greater educational experience.

First and foremost, large universities have better atmosphere in both educational and entertaining field. University is the place which absorbs different cultures inside. Larger the scale of a university, more comprehensive the university is. You can make contact to students from another side of the world easily. The atmosphere here is open, free and diverse which makes great contribution to broadening your horizon. That’s the special experience which you won’t get in small colleges.

Furthermore, the fact that large university usually has more professors with great reputation like academicians indicates that large college can guarantee the quality of education. Take the case of Peking University which owns most academicians in China. The scale of Peking University is very large. In order to ensure the quality of teaching, it is necessary to continuously recruit professors with outstanding abilities. The attractive salary, pleasant atmosphere and excellent reputation will be the solid reasons for teachers to stay so to ensure the quality of education.

Nevertheless, some voice arises that students in smaller universities have less competitions to distribute resources. Ironically, small universities are more inclined to lead to worse involution than larger universities. Commonly, the government allocates funding based on the scale of college which means large universities have more funding and resources than small universities. More students can get scholarship. While in small universities, students may have to spend more time studying to get scholarship with fewer quotas.

In a nutshell, I maintain that larger colleges and universities provide a better educational experience. Admittedly, as an old saying goes in China, the wise see the wisdom, and some people may oppose me. However, I believe they will compromise after being exposed to my article.