People work because they need money to live. What are some others reasons that people work? Discuss one or more reasons.

it is true that monetary benefits are the major driving motivation that urges people to get to work. I believe that there are a few more reasons that drive not most but a major chunk of population to work, people do work for social causes, personal satisfaction and happiness and to support the dependents. through this essay I would like to enlighten these reasons that are often ignored when considering what reasons move a person to get to work.

First and foremost, social causes, these may be for the wellbeing of a faction or whole communities many people devote their whole lives for certain causes. For example, social worker working at charitable organizations that may be serving children, elderly, hospital patients or the essential service worker like paramedics, police, firefighter and soldiers who put their lives on the line so that other could have a safe and comfortable life. In my opinion it would be degrading to compare their sacrifices to monetary benefits because in most of the cases these organizations and divisions are strained for money and are dependent on donations to go by, and the debt for the services they provide can never be paid in full for their dedication and sacrifices are inestimable.

Secondly, there are many that work in a certain field because they get personal satisfaction and enjoy their work even if the money they earn is just enough to scrape by. For example, people working as artists and musicians or many or in many other not well paid jobs. For example, I know that many artists would rather sleep empty stomach than give up on their dream projects, even if an opportunity arises that pay them more and promises a comfortable life. it raises a question why do they still work? it’s because their art or works are a source of satisfaction on which they are proud.

In my opinion it’s unfair to categorically say that people work because they need money to live as there are many reasons for which people work and as evident by some of the reasons mentioned above they are just causes.