Some people like to do what they already do well. Other people prefer to try new things and take risks. Which do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your choice.

Like machines that rust when not used, Human brain also degenerates if not used regularly. It is scientifically proven by many researches that human brain’s decrease in capabilities if not challenged and becomes dull. Moreover, if humanity does not attempt new things, then how is humanity supposed to progress? Thus I prefer trying new things and taking risks for personal and humanitarian reasons.

To explain further I believe that to keep ones’ cognitive abilities astute and to develop new abilities, we must keep on trying new things and taking risks. For example, an acquaintance of mine who took risks and learned to do stunts and was a successful racecar driver is still able to keep his reflexes even in old age and was consequently able to avoid an accident while going on a trip which would have not been possible had he not taken the risk of learning to do stunts in the first place.

Secondly, there are always risks involved in any new endeavor due to omnipresent uncertainties. Every scientific experiment or new theory has a chance of resulting in failure and being mocked by society. For example, if any of the inventors like wright brothers had not taken risks and attempted to take the first flight or researchers at bells lab had not created internet our society would not have been at the current level of development and would not have made many other related discoveries which enable us to enjoy the level of sophistication and convenience that we enjoy today.

Thus I prefer to take risks and try new projects as there are clear benefits for development of society and to me on personal levels as well. As evident through the examples and instances mentioned above taking risks helps keep me healthy and helps me progress further in life and in the meantime helps society in one way or the other.