Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

Currently, society has witnessed an unprecedented accumulation of material affluence, thus there is an increasing number of families which are capable of affording computers. After the proliferation of computer or laptop, it has triggered a heated discussion about whether children should be allowed to play computer games. Opinions vary widely. Some citizens reckon that computer games, as newly emerging affairs, are suitable for children to maximize their creativity. While others strongly oppose computer games and they contend that parents are supposed to take firm measures to prevent them from exposure to computer games. Personally speaking, I reckon that they should not be exposed to computer games for reasons as follows.

To start with, playing computer games takes up a lot of time which ought to be distributed to study or do exercise. Concretely, when children are exposed to the computer games, they are likely to be addicted to games due to their instinct of enjoying fun, therefore they spend hours even whole days in killing monsters or upgrading armors, which extremely diminishes their time allocated for study, thus their academic performance suffers without sufficient commitment. Meanwhile, while children are playing computer games, their eyes are glued to the screen, which exerts detrimental effects on their eyesight. Apart from that, provided that they become addictive to computer games, they will have a preference for staying at home instead of working out or going for a hike with others, hence, they are prone to have some diseases, especially a bunch of diseases related with vertebrate. Meanwhile, owing to the lack of interpersonal communication, their communication skills cannot be enhanced, which prevents them from achieving future success. Therefore, playing computer games are harmful to their physical health and academic performance.

What’s more, since the content displayed in the computer games are not filtered by rating systems, computer games probably set a bad model for children, which drives them to behave in a socially unacceptable way. To be more specific, some computer games, at the aim of pursuing excitement, are designed in a specific background requiring varieties of players to kill with each other. However, with regard to those children who are not mature enough, they are not capable of telling reality from transience and they tend to imitate such kinds of behaviors, which poses a threat to the social stability and drives up the crime rate. In addition, some computer games involve pornographic contents so as to attract male players. However, these kinds of content are not conducive to children’s growth. Due to this temptation, some of them are even misguided to commit some sexual harassment, even rape. It is self-evident that all of these mentioned above impede children’s from maintaining mental health.

Admittedly, playing computer games has some perks. For instance, some individuals harbor the idea that it is an optimal approach for children to relax. Nevertheless, there are multiple choices for children to rejuvenate themselves, like doing exercise or listening to some soothing music, thus the merits of playing computer games seem lackluster.

In a nutshell, children should not be allowed to play computer games by taking the downsides of playing computer games in children’s health and social security into consideration.