Government should spend more money on environment protection than on economic.

Currently, society has witnessed an unprecedented accumulation of material affluence, while the environment is continuously deteriorated, which even poses a threat to we human beings’ survival and triggers a heated discussion about which should be regarded as the government’s first priority, environmental protection or the economy. Opinions vary widely, some citizens reckon that the economy, as our solid foundation of living qualities, deserves more attention from the authority, while some other individuals harbor the idea that without environmental protection, the economy, as an architect based on environment, cannot thrive on its highway. Personally speaking, I concur with the latter opinion for reasons as follows.

To start with, in terms of individuals, nowadays people’s living conditions have been significantly elevated compared to the past. However, the problem confronted with city dwellers is that they are prone to suffer from the deteriorated environment. While it is the careless advancement of the economy results in environmental deterioration. For instance, a bunch of children have a cough or pneumonia owing to the intensified haze generated by the proliferation of private cars in the metropolis, some elder citizen may also be plagued with varieties of chronic diseases caused by environmental contamination produced by the excessive construction in urban areas. All of these listed health problems result in pain. Although the authority is capable of distributing funds to further develop the economy so as to find out more efficient approaches to cure diseases, the pain exerted on human beings is irreversible, hence, the expenditure on developing economic is supposed to allocate to protect the environment, which can address the health issue from its root and relieve citizens from pain.

What’s more, with regard to the national development, during the process of globalization, each country spares no effort to build up its all-round strengths, especially the economic strengths. Some of these countries overexploit its natural resource, while others introduce industries that are likely to provoke irreversible environment contamination. Under the circumstance, they have achieved progress in the globalization, however, the development is not sustainable due to its detrimental effects on global ecology. To be more specific, the overexploitation will eventually leads to the dearth of energy to sustain the basic necessities of we human beings, meanwhile, the industries introduced to local region to enhance its economy will give rise to contamination, which not only makes city dwellers there have fatal diseases but also deteriorates local surrounding to impede it from further advancement. Therefore, it is impossible for a country to develop the economy without sufficient support from the environment.

Admittedly, developing the economy is of crucial significance, since with the improved economic situation, we are rendered with multiple choices, including basic necessities, jobs, entertainment facilities and so on. Nevertheless, with sufficient funds utilized to protect the environment, not only us but also our future generation are capable of enjoying the benefits led by the advancement of the economy, therefore the perks of developing the economy seem lackluster compared to the continuous benefits from allocation toward environmental protection.

In a nutshell, an eligible authority is supposed to allocate sufficient funds to protect the environment, which constitutes a stepping stone in the further development of the economy, therefore benefiting not only us but also our offspring.