What is the most important factor that affect the lasting time of a friendship?

help each other at difficult time

have same interests

trust each other completely

Currently, living in fast-paced lives, there is an increasing number of individuals suffering from the insurmountable pressure generated from the excessive workload, therefore they are attaching more importance to their friendship, which they can resort to and attain more comfort to rejuvenate themselves. A bunch of individuals reckon that common interests are their pivotal factor influencing their lasting time of friendship. On the contrary, some other citizens harbor the idea that it is the trust between friends that enables them to sustain their friendships in the long run. Personally speaking, I cannot concur with the listed two opinions. I suggest that the bits of help rendered by my buddies are the most significant factors determining my lasting time of friendships and my opinion can be substantiated as follows.

To start with, helping with each other in perplexity renders friends an opportunity to reinforce friendships. As the old saying goes, a friend in need is a friend in deed. It is easy for friends to share happiness and joy with each other since those can be obtained without much efforts and endeavors, however, provided that during a friendship, I am confronted with innumerable difficulties that I fail to combat owing to my limited aptitude, my friends, regardless of my dilemma, disregard those problems enslaving me, it is inconceivable for me, who is taught to be altruistic to reach out my hands to those friends in need, to maintain the friendship with selfish or egotistical friends. For instance, in my relationship with my best friend, Rebecca, every time I encounter any kind of troubles, she is always ardent to offer me some suggestions from her standpoints before I seek help attentively. In return, I also spare no efforts to reach out my hands, not only helping her figure out the optimal approaches to tackle problems but also collaborating with her to put these methods into practice. On the basis of mutual help, we still maintain our friendship even though we are separated in different universities that are thousands of kilometers away from each other and different departments in totally disparate domains.

Furthermore, the experience of grappling with difficulties together also affords friends benefits to enhance their relationship. For one thing, the experience is worthy of cherishing since, during the period, not only my friends but also me accumulate priceless experience that is conducive to our future development. For another, it also renders us chances to repair our friendships. It is widely acknowledged that as individuals, the divergence is unavoidable, therefore the friendship is likely to cease or on the brink of collapse. Whereas, every time we are reminded of the memorable and tough time we share with each other, we reminisce about our devotion toward the friendship, thus forgiving each other. The research conducted by the Beijing Youth to evaluate citizens preferred approach to repair their friendship illuminates that 78% citizens tend to recall their memory they share with their friends, which reminds them of their friends’ merits, hence, they are more willing to admit their friends’ flaws. This research indicates that the tough time we spend with our friends not only enables us to amass experience beneficial for our future growth but also ensures that our friendship is long-lasting.

Admittedly, the same interests also constitute a stepping stone in establishing a friendship, nevertheless, living in a constantly changing society, individuals’ interests, affected by the newly-emerging affairs, can also be altered frequently. Therefore, those friendship based on common interests is vulnerable to the constant changing. Apart from that, we ought to admit that trust is also a determinant factor in deciding the lasting time of our friendship, but the trust cannot be erected without any solid foundation, without the experience about offering hands to friends in dilemma.

In a nutshell, from what has been discussed above, the most important factor affecting our lasting time of friendships is helping each other at a difficult time since for one thing, helping each other is conducive for us to lay a solid foundation of friendships of trust which extends the lasting time of friendship. For another, compared with the ever-changing interests, helping each other enables us to maintain the stability of friendships.