Question:

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect. In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?

1)Interrupt and correct the mistake right away

2)Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leader

3)Say nothing

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

When we stay at school or participate a conference, learning how to deal the relationship with teachers and leaders is significant. The process of correcting a mistake during a class or a meeting indeed testing our ability and steel our bond with teachers or leaders. Some people prefer interrupting and correcting the mistake right away while others prefer saying nothing. However, I think the best way is waiting until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talking to the teacher or meeting leader.

First of all, the waiting and talking approach avoids interfering the consistency of the class or the meeting. As a matter of fact, in our “teacher-center” class, the teachers always rule the classroom the roost by using a prescribed approach which is deliberately designed to teach a generate curriculum to everyone at the same time. Therefore, the teachers and the leaders control the whole pace of the class and meeting and manage to fulfill all the information within the assigned time. However, if the teachers or the leaders are interrupted, he or she will have to spend time to explain and correct the mistakes, which will elongate the time of class and destroy the whole schedule. What’s more, in order to continue the class from the interference, the teachers or the leaders have to recall the previous object and then go on to the next step, which also cost a massive time. For instance, one of my friends Jones interrupted the teachers and pointed out the mistake immediately. Notwithstanding the problem was solved, we did not have the time to keep on the class and we could not finish the exam we have to revise that day. However, if Jones could introduce the question after the class, our class efficiency and consistency could be promising.

Secondly, the waiting and talking approach can show respect towards the teachers and leaders. As we all know, the teachers an leaders are the symbol of academic authority and the power of the company. When being challenged in the public, like being pointed out their mistakes, they may feel disgraced and consider their authority being lowered. Undoubtedly, pointing out the mistake in the public will also add the pressure on the teachers or the leaders, which regard as the rudeness. Therefore waiting until everyone are gone can not only solve the problem but show our respect.

In conclusion, considerate these aspects, I would like to wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then point out the mistakes.