Reading is more educational than watching television or movies.

With the technology advancing rapidly with time, a lot of movies that is based on some book successfully ensnares the audiences with their visual effects. However, we very well know that tree can’t replace its roots. Same way, even though movies have become more advanced with time, books remain at the pinnacle of the education medium. Some people might argue that movies and TV are more educational than reading. I believe that we are not yet there where movies or TV will surpass the books with respect to learning.

First and foremost, the more elaborate the story is, the more it seizes people’s attention. Books are much more elaborate than movies and people can connect more with the subject when they read books. Harry Potter series, for an example, tried to replicate J.K Rowling’s book. But, it is difficult to showcase every single detail in the movie duration. Because of which, the movie is not as elaborate as the book it is based on. Consequently, the audience could connect better with the books than the series. Thus, books have always been a better medium of education as people could connect and learn more.

Furthermore, when it comes to health, watching TV continuously for hours is never a good idea. While, one can read books for hours without straining his eyes. For an instance, if I need to study for my exams and the lecturer has provided a movie video version of the textbook, I will most likely choose to read the book itself than watch the movie. This is because exams entail rigorous studying for hours and watching a video, of say 14 hours, is strenuous. Hence, if someone wants to study continuously, books are superior than the movies.

Last but not the least, we don’t have movies or TV shows for all the subjects we would be interested in studying. From the ancient time, all the information and knowledge are documented in books and it will be take few decades or century for the TV to incorporate TV shows based on all possible subjects. Veracity of this claim can be evaluated by considering the example of the Indian history. I can’t remember any TV show or movie that gives us information about all the emperors who ruled India. The same information is very meticulously engraved in the text books. Thus, being limited in the content, TV stays behind the books.

In summary, there are myriad of reasons as to why reading remains at the apogee of the education medium. Some of the reasons like eclectic contents, their delineation and more relaxation serve to support my claim. I, being a voracious reader, prefer to read books than watch the equivalent movie or TV shows.