Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Team project is definitely more beneficial for students with respect to their learning than working alone. Working together, students not only broaden their knowledge, but also learn to work with others. Although, some people might refute this claim, I completely support it because of following reasons.

First and foremost, students learn about the subject better when they work in a team. Different students have varied perspective of pursuing the problem and can come up with contradicting or refined solutions. Rigorous brain storming on the project with conflicting opinion can help students to come up with a more sophisticated solution. For an example, when I was working on a class project, in my university, me and my team mates used to have lots of contentions which I feel helped us a lot in coming with a robust solution for the NP Hard problem which we were working on.

In addition, no student stays behind because of continuous knowledge transfer from their peers. Team work ensures that each student learns clearly about the problem and it’s potential solutions. If one student is weak in studies, his team mates can help him grapple with the problem. The veracity of this point can be proved by taking an instance of one of project work from school, wherein, my friend, Raghav, who used to fail almost all his subjects, managed to pass in the project work which was done in a team. He was helped by his team members to cope up with his difficulties and learn about the project.

Last but not the least, apart from learning in depth about the subject, a student also learns to work in a team, communicate with other people, coordinate with them, in order to finish a task. Such exercise is crude for anyone to grow in his life. To put a light on this claim, let’s meticulously draw our attention to any corporate work, where people have to perform in a big team. Their success will depend on how well they can slog with their peers. Team projects in school can help students to prepare themselves early for their upcoming opportunities.

All in all, working in a team is incumbent for a student, in order for him to learn more and succeed in his life. Thus, I absolutely endorse the idea of students working in a team than working alone.