The reading students do on their own is as important than that assigned by their teachers.

With the unprecedented development of the culture industry, a large source of books is provided for students in different phases of life. Competitions in today’s society are becoming increasingly fiercer which acquires students to assimilate books of various types. Some people support the notion that reading books that are assigned by teachers are of the greatest importance, considering that teachers can filter out books that suit students most. However, As far as I concerned, students should do their reading on their own.

First, blessed with an opportunity to choose the books they love arouses their curiosity, which would definitely kindle their interest in reading and gaining useful knowledge that is not supposed to be taught in the classroom. Just as the saying goes “Books are the best teachers of mankind.” Students are not identical individuals, thus their preference could never be the same, which indicates that students could have totally different views about some articles or ideas. A history book might be fascinating to some students, the rest might find them unsatisfying, instead. If a student is only equipped with a mind with a tunnel vision, his interest and potential could never be sparked.

Second, given the freedom of choosing books for themselves, the student could have access to a wider range of books. More concretely, when students are making their reading lists, it is unavoidable for them to compare different books and estimate which one has the higher value, which needs students to read a lot and think a lot. With time passing and social change, students’ receptive abilities have seen better days. Choosing what they would actually love to read constructs an enjoyable environment for students, which could evoke their passion for doing so. The more books they read, the better they understand the reading material, also, they would definitely read faster, in that case. The ability to do an extensive reading is of great importance in the university stage for any students, seeing that a large number of books and materials were to be read in such a short time, students without this ability could feel much more stressful.

Admittedly, teachers are experts in their field, they have a better judgment than students. As adults, teachers might filter out inappropriate contexts for students, however, what they thought being not suitable could be wrong. Students would lose the opportunity to observe the world by themselves under teachers’ choices. Frankly speaking, no limits should be impulsed on students while they are trying to explore the unknown by themselves.

In brief, by taking into account all the aforementioned reasons, it seems that the selection of books and magazines according to the students' interest is a rational strategy. For sake of the brevity, two main reasons should be reiterated. First, students’ interest and potential will be evoked. Moreover, their horizon will be widen as long as they do their reading on their own. That is why this strategy is recommended for all the students.