In recent years, many frog species around the world have declined in numbers or even gone extinct due to changes in their environment. These population declines and extinctions have serious consequences for the ecosystems in which frogs live; for example, frogs help play a role in protecting humans by eating disease-carrying insects. Several methods have been proposed to solve the problem of declining frog populations.

First, frogs are being harmed by pesticides, which are chemicals used to prevent insects from damaging farm crops such as corn and sugarcane. Pesticides often spread from farmland into neighboring frog habitats. Once pesticides enter a frog’s body, they attack the nervous system, leading to severe breathing problems. If laws prohibited the farmers from using harmful pesticides near sensitive frog populations, it would significantly reduce the harm pesticides cause to frogs.

A second major factor in frog population decline is a fungus that has spread around the world with deadly effect. The fungus causes thickening of the skin, and since frogs use their skin to absorb water, infected frogs die of dehydration. Recently, researchers have discovered several ways to treat or prevent infection, including antifungal medication and treatments that kill the fungus with heat. Those treatments, if applied on a large scale, would protect sensitive frog populations from infection.

Third, in a great many cases, frog populations are in decline simply because their natural habitats are threatened. Since most frog species lay their eggs in water, they are dependent on water and wetland habitats. Many such habitats are threatened by human activities, including excessive water use or the draining of wetlands to make them suitable for development. If key water habitats such as lakes and marshes were better protected from excessive water use and development, many frog species would recover.

In the reading passage, the writer offers three possible solutions on account of the decreasing of frogs’ population. However, the speaker contradicts that all the methods mentioned in the passage are unpractical and points out the demerit one by one.

Firstly, the author suggests that government should implement laws banning farmers from overusing pesticide since the chemicals cause frogs severe breathing problems. On the contrary, the speaker contends that this method is not economic practical. Farmers rely on using pesticide to increase the production of crops and remain competitive on the market.The inhibition of using pesticide will result in the loss of crops and lowering the yield.

Secondly, the author claims that the antifungal medication should be conducted in large scale since the fungus leads to the frog dehydration. On the opposite, the speaker refutes that the wide application of antifungal treatment is also unreliable since it has to be conducted individually. What is more, this antifungal medication cannot be passed on to the offspring, which means it has to be practised generation after generation, costing huge amount of money.

Lastly, the writer proposes that since frogs are dependent on the water habitats for laying eggs, the government should protect water habitats from excessive use. However, the speaker argues that solution cannot save the frogs since the overuse of water habitats is not the biggest threat. The real reason is that global warming causes the disappearance of wetlands, thus many species become extinct. The prohibition of overuse wetlands cannot address with the loss of wetlands caused by global warming.