Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: It is more important for the government to spend money on art museums and concert halls than on recreational facilities such as swimming pools and playground.

Enhancing public welfare so as to keep up with citizens’ living expectations has always been the core of government working aims. When it comes to the problem whether the government financial found should be distributed to artistic constructions likewise art museums and concert halls or recreational facilities like swimming pools, opinions vary from person to person. In my perspective, I simply hold that should prioritize recreational infrastructures over museums.

To begin with, constructing recreational facilities can bring tremendous benefits to a wide range of people, from the youngsters to the elder, while the audience to the art museum or concert hall is limited to people in pursuit of aesthetic appreciation. To be specific, not every one shows great interest and understanding of arts, especially for the children. They cannot tell the difference between the classic music and pop music and do not care about the underlying meanings or the profound message the painter wants to convey, let alone spare time to appreciate the delicate songs performed by an orchestra. Compared with that, sports become a much more popular option. Almost everyone has participated in sports activities, and it is quite easy for them to learn athletic activity. Therefore, the newly constructed facilities, like the playground will inspire them to actively involve in sports, which not only boost their spirit but also bring benefits to physical health.

Secondly, building recreational facilities provide an excellent chance to help people bond with each other which essentially meets the public’s social need. The swimming pool and the play ground will become an ideal place for people to unwind themselves, unleash their negative feelings and bond with each other. People can communicate with each other, share their hobbies and exchange body feelings, which contribute a lot to the harmony of community. When they are placed in a museum or a concert hall, they have to obey some courtesies, like no speaking aloud and no frequent discussion. Therefore, one may feel distant from others given indifferent atmosphere.

Admittedly, It is undeniable that constructing cultural centers like concert hall is also a smart choice. Art museums offer the citizens a great chance to expand outlook, broad horizons and deeply enrich their spiritual world. However,considering on the substantial benefits that recreational infrastructure bring, the money should be distribute to sports center at first.

To sum up, considering on the advantages as I mentioned above, government should invest on building recreational facilities in the first place.