should a city preserve or destroy its historic buildings

Historical buildings are an important part of the history of any country. They display cultural and architectural of the identity of every nation. Definitely, some people if asked would agree with the statement that the historical building should be preserved while others have a negative attitude toward this idea. As I am concerned, I absolutely agree that the historical building should be protected against any danger that may be influenced their well-being. In the following paragraphs, I will shed light on the arguments to supporting my view.

The first and the most reason is that the historical buildings are the treasure structures that we cannot assess their value by money. If they are destroyed, there won’t be a replacement for them anymore, even if an architecture builds a building completely like before, this a new construction is a fake building and have not historical valuable. For example, due to the serious earthquake about five years ago, one of my hometown historical building entirely destroyed, although, the government tries to build a building exactly like former this new structure has not the historical value. Because the worth of historical building depends on its age.

The second reason is that with this historical building we can get a lot of information about the ancestor’s lifestyle and religion, culture and so on. Sometimes this building tells us a story of people who dedicated their lives to protect our country. Many of the ancient inscriptions that engraved on the wall of this building state about the soldiers that battled for protection of the independence of our country that made us appreciate of our ancestors for all of their braves in the past.

Finally, the historical building can attract many tourists to our country that it could be a major revenue for the government to use this money for improving people’s life. Tourists often choose the city for visiting base on where this city has the historical places or not. For instance in my country, historical cities attracted more tourist. Shiraz is a center of attention of tourists because of many historical places that exist in this city. Every year historical heritage announced that Shiraz is the first destination of tourists.

By way of conclusion, base on the arguments explored above, I am of the opinion that we must preserve the old building because of their historical value that we cannot replace them if they are destroyed. And also this structure gives us a lot of info about the past.