Should government increase limitations on foreign import to increase job in nation.

Limiting of foreign imports has been a debatable topic for a very long time now. Some nations support this idea while some other nations very openly criticise the idea. I personally feel that limiting the foreign imports is not a very good idea.

People who are in favour of limiting the imports obviously have their own valid reasons. They might argue that it hampers the chances of local companies to prosper. Moreover, cause hinderance in establishment of new companies leading to less job opportunities in the nation. However, having said this I feel that imports has its own benefits which ini my opinion overshadows all this drawbacks.

First of all, limiting imports will decrease the sense of competition in the nation. Moreover, it would lead to increase in the prices of the goods. As we see today due to the import from other nations even the local manufacturers keep their price minimal so as to compete with the foreign goods. This helps the consumer to get the goods at a reasonable price.

In addition to the previous point, allowing foreign imports increases variety in the market. In other words, consumer gets to choose from a wide variety of products. It increases the need for innovation and hence encourages the company to focus more on research and development. For example, if we look at the television industry due to imports from other nations we get to choose from a various types of televisions. Moreover, still new technologically advanced televisions are coming up in the market everyday.

To summarise, I feel that government should encourage foreign imports and not limit them. It helps to keep the price of the items in check. Moreover, it increases variety in the market. All in all, making the consumers happy.