"Smoking should be banned in all public places. Use reasons and specific examples to support your opinion."

Smoking has been known as a risk factor for a number of lethal and debilitating health problems. No matter a person is a first-hand smoker or a passive smoker, the harmful effects of it is inevitable in both situations. However, smokers are part of our societies and, in my opinion, banning cigarette smoking in public places is not be a reasonable approach to reduce its adverse effects. Although it may be temporarily useful, in long run it may lead to other social as well as medical problems.

Smoking is a strong addiction. Medical research has shown that addiction to Nicotine, the addictive ingredient of cigarette, is so strong that giving it up is more difficult than Morphine. This fact implies that restricting the smokers is not going to hinder them from their habit. According to WHO statistics, more than half of the populations of developing countries are cigarette smokers. It means that smokeless public places will reject more than fifty percent of a society from enjoying their time there. Consequently, the rate of social dissatisfaction will gradually rise to an alarming point and the stability of society will be in danger.

In China, where the public smoking is going to be illegal, a national survey has highlighted that many smokers feel desperate and angry about legal codes on smoking. They feel as being out-casted and some of them consider immigration as their final resort.

A recent research on the results of such kind of restrictions in public facilities has suggested that smokers have not reduced the amount of their use, but have resorted to private places. The research indicated that lung and heart diseases have increased among their family members and partners. In other words, shifting the habit from public to private territories still affect the society by health issues and put a burden on national health services.

Considering the available data and facts, it is obvious that legal actions on smoking in public places will not be a wise measure to manage the adverse effects of cigarette smoke. In contrary, it may still cause some social and medical problems. I believe that education from the early school days is a much better solution to the smoking problem than banning smokers from public places.