In some countries, people are no longer allowed to smoke in many public places and office buildings. Do you think this is a good rule or a bad rule? Use specific reasons and details to support your position.

Cigarettes have been by far the deadliest and most harmful items used deliberately by people. Scientific research that was done last century proved that tobaccos are extremely hazardous for our health. And since then, governments around the world have implemented policies to stop people from using them. One of these policies is to stop smoking in public places, which I personally believe that it is a very good rule. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, cigarettes affect not only the person who is smoking, but also the people around him. In fact, breathing the smoke released in the air is just as harmful as actually using the product. Moreover, some results from experiments show that the harmful effect from cigarettes is higher in people who do not use tobaccos. This is because their body is not used to these kinds of substances that exist in the product. For instance, in the public spaces like restaurants, cafes, squares are a lot of people under the age of eighteen. The immunity in the young generation is lower and not strong enough. Therefore, they do not have the capacity to defend against more than five thousand chemicals that are part of a single cigarette. Thus, the damage on their brain and probability to have cancer when they grow older increases exponentially. These damages also apply to other generations but are less severe. Knowing all these facts, banning smoking in public spaces is a rule that makes a lot of sense to me.

Secondly, this rule is very effective in lowering the number of smokers beyond the public areas. The most common places to go out with friends or family to have fun are these environments where smoking is not allowed. As a result, smokers have to make a decision between cigarettes and having a good time with their loved ones. Even though, not everyone will give up their habit, it is still considered successful because some people will. My own experience is a compelling example of this, my mother has been a smoker for more than twenty years. Until recently, due to the war, our political and juridical environment have been chaotic. However, since the situation has started to improve government began to implement social policies with smoking being one of them, in order to improve the living conditions overall. And since then, my mother has stopped smoking gradually because she could not go out with us or her friends anywhere. So, had not it been for this policy, my mother would have kept smoking.