Imagine that you are preparing for a trip. You plan to be away from your home for a year. In addition to clothing and personal care items, you can take one additional thing. What would you take and why? Use specific reasons and details to support your choice.

Travelling the world is one of the greatest experiences that life has to offer; it changes your perspective in a good way and makes you a better person. When you are planning for a long trip far away from home one will need a big luggage filled with all kinds of stuff; nonetheless, if I had to choose to take one more thing, except for the necessary ones, I would definitely take my phone. This is due to two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First, with phone I will be able to call my loved ones. Sometimes people decide to travel in order to rewind and take a break from their dull routine; however, this does not mean that they need to completely separate from their life and not talk to family or friends while travelling. Moreover, people are social creatures thus they need to constantly spend time or be around others. Even though speaking through phone is not the best choice to communicate, it is still better than being completely alone. My own experience is a compelling example of this. Last year, I went to United States of America to work and travel; while I was there the only thing that kept me in touch constantly with my parents, my brothers, and my friends was the phone. Therefore, if it was not for my phone, my time abroad would not have been a good experience.

Second, through phone you have access to unbelievably large amounts of information: internet, books, social media, and whatnot. From time to time, although, I am visiting lots of different places, I would feel the need to use internet and see what is happening back in my hometown or in the world in general; moreover, as a huge fan of soccer, I would want to watch my favorite team play, or at least look at the score after the match. In addition, before going to sleep after a long day of hiking or walking, a movie or a tv show episode while laying on the bed, which by the way is outside in balcony, would be amazing. As a consequence, having my phone with me and use it occasionally throughout the day while travelling the world, would be a superb experience.

In conclusion, there are a lot of things I would love to take with me that would help a lot, but because I need to keep in touch with my loved ones and see what is happening around our planet, I would take my phone with me.