Some local languages are becoming extinct. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In this globalisation era, various languages are persistently becoming extinct. In this regard, some people consider that this would promote more harmony among people, while on the other hand, some negate this notion. This particular argument is a two-sided sword as it has both positive and negative aspects.

To begin with, if a few languages were used to communicate, people would feel more connected to each other. Also, they would be able to communicate better and resolve various political issues, which in turn would promote unity among them. In addition to this, there would indeed be greater chances of learning them. Hence, it would make it easier for us to explore various different places as well as widen our knowledge of various different fields like culture, education, and the trade sector. For instance, with English being developed as an international language, we are able to visit all around the world and communicate and study various subjects in English.

Contrariwise, with several different languages dying every year, people believe that we are losing the uniqueness and individuality of cultures. Culture, no doubt, is linked to local languages. With diminishing languages, rich culture is also being eradicated alongside. This culture includes various stories or songs, and with the elimination of a language, the culture and heritage associated with it are also lost. Moreover, this practice can develop inferiority complexes among members of that community.

By analysing both aspects of this situation, I concur that even though a uniform language provides peace, the rich heritage and culture associated with language cannot be compromised. It would be more advantageous if our society possess a diversity of cultures and traditions. We all should make collective efforts to preserve these superseding languages and make our world more interesting and multi-faceted.