Some parent offer their school age children money for each high grade mark they get in school Do you think this is a good idea Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Throughout history, education has always played an important role in every society. Due to its paramount importance, scholars have perpetually been trying to elevate the effectiveness of the educational system. One of the most controversial questions which have caused a heated debate among academician is whether it is good or not if parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade they get in school. Personally, I believe that it is not a good idea and has bad effects on children. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into the most important reasons.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that if parents offer their children money for their high grades, they will become spoiled. We know that the children’s personality is formed at school age. Therefore, parents should do their to nurture their children during this age. If they give money to their children when they get a high mark in school, they will expect to get prize for every good thing they do in the future. Hence, not only will they become spoiled, but also their viewpoint of life will be affected because they think there is always a prize after doing every good thing. For example, imagine a child who receives money from their parents after every high mark got at school. When this child grows up and enters university, he will expect to get a prize from the professors, but he does not. When he does a good thing for one of his friends, he expects to get a prize as well! Such a person cannot have a good life because of his high expectation for every little good thing he does in his life because, most of the time, we will not get what we deserve. If he had learned it earlier in his life, he would have a more realistic view of his life. Consequently, offering money for getting a high mark will not have a good impact on children’s personalities.

Another equally important reason to be mentioned is that the incentive to study and get high grades should be something more worthwhile than money. All of us need a kind of incentive to do things we have to do better. The more motivated we are, the better we do that task, and children are not excluded. Therefore, parents should provide a worthwhile incentive for their children to study hard and get high marks at school. For example, they can tell a story of a very famous scientist or inventor, which has affected humans' lives in a positive way. Then, tell their children that if you study hard and get high marks, you will be accepted in the best universities and find the best jobs. By having this job, you can be a very effective person in society and improve people’s lives. In this way, children can set high goals for themselves from the very beginning and study with purpose, which is much more better than receiving money for a good grade.

To sum up, I believe that offering children money for their good grades is not a good idea because they become spoiled, and because there are more worthwhile motivations to inspire them to study hard rather than money.