Some parents forbid young children from owning smartphones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

It’s conspicuously clear that we live in a technological reality. Technology has been not just entertain us through usual streaming services, but it has taken over our reality from our jobs to our daily communication. This being said, not just adults, but kids need to have access to a cell phone with internet in order to keep in touch with their parents and loved ones and to be able to improve their skills and knowledge.

First, having a cellphone nowadays is crucial if you want to keep in touch with not just your loved ones, but with people in your nearest social circles. Children need to grow and develop, and it implies the importance of them being accountable, going out by themselves, and being trusted by their parents. With a smartphone, kids can reach out to their parents at any time, being accountable of where they are. Even if they can’t or don’t know how to use it, internet allows the network services to localize them at any place or time. I remember when I was a kids, I had some singing practices every Saturday. My mom would drop me out there and go to work and she only would go pick me up once I called her up through my cell phone. It made communication easier.

Secondly, we live in an Era of Information. We are always connected, seeking new knowledge and how to integrate them, how to be wiser on managing the information we know. The convenience of owning a cellphone with internet in our current world allows us to be more connected, enables us to search to verify any new information, keeps us aware of news and important information through videos and articles. I remember when I was a kid, I had watched a movie, trhough my cellphone, that was about a girl that met someone online but later discovered he was not who he said he was, and she managed to scape safe before anything happened. Later them, something very similar happened to me. I remembered what I saw in the movie, told my mom, blocked the person and never saw him again. My mom had never thought me about that, but, because of the information available online, I could recover it and use it in my life.

Therefore, given the cruciality of owning a smartphone at the present time, I think that children should have one, which allow them to reach out to their parents easier than without it, plus they can learn new information and be more aware of important worldly updates.