Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade(mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

Nobody could doubt that it is increasingly competitive in school among students in order to get high grade and excellent academic performance. Therefore, there are some occasions when some parents offer their kids money in order to inspire them to obtain good mark. From my perspective, it is not a wise action and it doesn't contribute to their kids' mental health.

Primarily, children could be obscure of the aim to study. If parents always relate grades to money, their kids would probably associate study with money automatically. As it is known to us that it is the knowledge that makes humans progressive. How superficial it is to attribute the reason of acquiring knowledge to making money. Nevertheless, we could create huge wealth if we are knowledgeable and capable enough. But the goal of studying never lies on money. For example, what our teachers always advice us is that how to make ourselves a better person to help needless people and make contributions to the society. Additionally, there are also crowds who don't have a high degree could make much money. But one of the most important aims of education is to train pioneers who are not only proficient in their fields but have strong ethic awareness towards the society. And the behavior to remind kids of money is somehow losing the education of their moral values.

On the other hand, it will enable children to develop misunderstanding of money. We should not educate children to concentrate on the issue of money. There are many critical things to us in our life. Actually, the frequent reference of money will allow children to attach more importance to it than they should be. Parents should let teenagers know that money is not the only measuring standard and it can't replace many of more valuable things. For instance, love, sincerity and sympathy for others all couldn't be substituted. When there is an emergency, the braveness appears on the face of firefighters is so precious that they could save the lives of thousands people even at the expense of sacrificing themselves. In my opinion, parents could use more practical and emotional encouragement or bonus in order to praise kids' processes, such as a gift, company or some delicious food supplied for them.

Indeed, it is a kind of approach to make kids more motivated to pursue higher grades sometimes because money could be used to buy a lot of things they need. But this kind of "gift" are supposed be controlled to a suitable frequency which will not ruin children's monetary sense.

In a nutshell, I don't think it is a proper way to use money as a media to inspire kids’ study. Because at the still young age, they haven’t formed a value of the world and correct view of money, they are not suitable to be educated induced by money which could be deteriorate to their development.