Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

In modern days, the society is extremely competitive. This competition started since students attend schools, a place that creates exams and grades to judge a student’s performance by numbers. Therefore, it’s not surprising that in order to improve their children’s grades, parents give money to children as a reward. The motivation behind this action might be good, however, in my opinion, offering children money when they achieve high grades can cause severe influences in children’s long-term development. My claim will be elaborated further in the following paragraph.

First, despite the fact that money is a good motivation for kids to study indeed, it actually brings negative influences on how children view money because it encourages children to learn for money and reward rather than to learn for themselves. Take my classmate as an example, it is his parents’ idea to offer him money when he scores over 90 in tests that make him cheat during exams. Although he hasn’t been caught even once, the habit of only learning for reward will certainly make him harder to succeed in the future.

Adding on the previous claim, giving children money based on their academic performance oversimplifies the process of how money is earned in the real world. When children think that it’s easy to earn money, they tend to spend it without limits, which can certainly be an issue because they can not manage their own money properly.

Second, as a student who didn’t receive any money in the past, not connecting learning and money together makes me focus more on the process of learning itself rather than the final grade. Surprisingly, I found out that not having to worry about other things but the test itself often makes me score a higher grade compared to those students who receive money if they pass the test.

In conclusion, the reason parents offer money to their children based on scores is understandable, but the potential consequences of leading children to have incorrect values and habits on money cannot be ignored. Therefore, I strongly believe that students should not get money when they get high scores in tests.