Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Without a bit of doubt, the award has a specific place in children raising, which is the most decisive factor in the kid's future personality. While some people believe that every single high mark from children should attain a prize, another thinks it is unnecessary or even harmful to their long-time behavior. In my view, give an award for each high mark is not appropriate because of two reasons. First, providing money for each high score can finally affect children's mental health and motivation; it may harm a child's intrinsic motivation, determining whether an action is eternal or provisional. Although giving money as a reward for every high grade establishes behavior that does not exist from the beginning, to continue what is already available, internal motivation is needed. Imagine a child who gives money after every high mark, and his parents have to go a mission or travel, or due to some unknown reasons, it is not possible to encourage their children immediately by money or other things as rewards, and then guess what happened? A child whose efforts to get high scores to depend on prizes probably experiences a significant decrease in grades and regress, leading to feeling down, anxiety, or other mental problems. We can see its necessary to teach children to love what they do by their heart without dependency on external reasoning such as money or any specific prize.

On the other hand, if children can not predict when they will achieve a commendation, they will probably work harder; this is already a discussed fact in psychology literature, unpredictable or periodic, better than giving it in a regular estate. Because it is not stable and they don't know the big prize when coming in all tasks, they try to be their best. For instance, when I was a primary school, my father told me he decides to buy me a doll based on my final exams, but he didn't tell me I have to get how many high scores, on that year. He gave me a single prize, but it made me feel excited about all my scores and do my best. If the rewards are predictable, maybe it's not exciting enough to drive me to attain high grades on every task. It is better to give just a single award and employ a child's mind with success every single moment. Finally, I assume that providing money for every high score is unnecessary, but it is a threat to children's mental health and regular prize because its nature predictably couldn't offer enough.