Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?
Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.
Without a bit of doubt, award has a specific place in children raising, which is most decisive factor in
future personality of kids. While some people believe that every single high mark from children
should attain a prize, another think it is not necessary or even harmful to their long-time behavior. In
my view, give prize for each high mark is not appropriate because of two reason.
To begin with, give money for each high score finally can affect children mental health and
motivation, it may have negative affect on child's intrinsic motivation, which determines whether an
action is eternal or provisional. Although, give money as a reward for every high grade establish
behavior that there is not exist from the beginning, in order to continue what is already available
internal motivation is needed. Imagine a child who give money after his every single high mark, and
his parents have to go a mission or travel, or due to some unknown reasons it is not possible to
encourage immediately their children by money or other things as rewards, and then guess what
happen? A child whose efforts for get high scores depends on prizes probably experience a big
decrease in grades and regress, which also lead to feel down, anxiety or other mental problems. We
can see its necessary to teach children to love what they do by their heart without dependency on
external reasoning such as money or any specific prize.
On the other hand, if children can not able to predict when they will achieve a commendation,
probably they will work harder, this is already a discussed fact in psychology literature,
unpredictable or periodic award better than to give it in a regular estate. Because it is not regular
and they don’t know the big prize when is coming in all tasks they try to be their best. For instance
when I was a primary school my father said me he decide to buy me a doll based on my final exams
but he didn’t say me I have to get how many high scores, on that year he gave me a single prize but
it made feel excited for all my scores and do my best. If the prizes are predictable may be its not
enough exciting to drive me for attain high grades on every task. It is better to give just single award
and employ a child mind with success every single moment.
Finally, I assume not only give money for every high score is not required, it is threat children mental
health as well, and regular prize because its nature predictably couldn’t provide enough excitement
that is keep child's mind with do his best every single moment.