Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school Do you think this is a good idea?

Parents use different techniques to encourage their children to gain higher grades in school. While some people think that it is a good idea that children be given money to earn high grades, I believe that children should not be offered any incentives to study. I feel this way for two major reasons, which I will explore with details and examples in the following essay.

Firstly, children should learn that they have some responsibilities whether they are at home or in school. They should be learned that sometimes they should do the right or necessary thing, even if they do not get any benefits in return. If parents offer their children money to do well in school, which they must, they are teaching them that they should receive something in return when they did something good. This can result in raising a generation that cannot play its roles in society and is not capable of helping others selflessly.

In addition, children may get used to receiving benefits in order to be successful, and in the future, if nobody offers them anything useful, they stop trying to be successful and pursuing their dreams. On the other hand, if they are not offered anything, they learn that it is no one's job to give them anything for their success, and if they try hard to do their best, they will see the results of their hard work in the future, which the best gift that they can receive. I have a story that can be an excellent example of this. I had a friend in high school that after every semester, his parents gave him money or bought him a gift no matter what scores he had earned. In university, however, his parents stopped giving him awards for studying because they taught that their kid is grown and does not need to be offered money to be encouraged anymore. As a result, my friend lost his eagerness to try and study hard and failed most of his courses. He finally left the university without any degree and is unemployed now. If his parents had not offered him money when he was a kid, he would not have lost his enthusiasm and would have been prosperous now.

In conclusion, it is a terrible idea that parents offer money to their kids to gain high grades in school. This is because children should learn that they have some responsibilities and have to do the correct thing whether they receive some benefits or not. Also, some children may get used to receiving incentives for doing good, and they lose their eagerness to be successful when no incentives are offered.