Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school.

Do you think this is a good idea? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

The importance of education in the current modern world is inevitable, so parents come up with various means to persuade their kids to study more and become well-educated. However, some people believe that giving monetary rewards to children is not a logical idea, others believe otherwise and support this kind of gift. I concur with the latter group for two main reasons, which I will explain in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, it is indisputable that a compelling incentive has a crucial role in enhancing the performance of humans, and school-age children are not exempt from this fact. Giving money as a reward can be a great motivation for kids to do their best and promote their efficiency and consequently get more satisfying marks. Moreover, getting high marks leads to self-satisfaction feeling in children because they find themselves, successful persons and this positive feeling can act as an impetus for them to continue their progress. As a case in point, an in-depth study was conducted in the department of psychology of our university on two groups of school students to examine the effects of monetary prizes on their performance. As a result, experiments illustrated that the first group who got rewarded for their high marks at least had 30 percent better grades and reported more self-satisfaction feelings than the other group.

Furthermore, another equally remarkable point substantiating my viewpoint is that by giving money to kids, they get a chance to get to know some crucial concepts like financial and investment skills. Moreover, they will understand how hard earning money is and don’t waste it. No one can cast a shadow of suspicion on this notion that if individuals become familiar with money management, especially at lower ages, they will be less likely to encounter financial issues in the future and know how to manage their budget deal with living costs. Take a personal experience as an example; when I was in elementary school, my parents sometimes gave me some monetary bonuses. They also had been taught me some advantages of investment. So, I divided my budget into several parts and invested a part in a bank. After more than 15 years, I had a significant amount of money in my bank account which I used for starting my current business. Moreover, the economic tricks I have learned, have taught me how to save money despite all the costs of living.

By taking into account all the above reasons and so many others, I believe that giving money to young kids is a wise idea and has many benefits for them. That is because they will be motivated to study hard, and they also become familiar with the economic concepts and money management.