Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade they get in school. Do you think it is a good idea?

In the recent hectic era, success in the educational career of their offspring, has become a paramount issue that preoccupying a plethora of parents' mind. They try to use many methods to encourage their young to put more effort and gain more and more achievement in their schooling. One of these approaches is offering children money for a high grade they get in school. A throng of parents maintain that this means and proposing persuasive measure is an effective way to inspiring the youngsters to spend more time on studying rather than on entertainment. While others are against this method and argue this method could grow the children as money lover and teach them that you should do anything just for paying off as a moral duty. As far as I am concerned, the former point carries more weight, especially if it combined by some sort of penalty for low mark. I take this advantage point on the account of the following arguments.

First and for most, the carrot and stick approach is based on a natural law that rules over our world. Neglecting some exceptions, you always take rewards for doing good works and punishment for bad ones. By using this method, children would learn this natural rule and adopt themselves. This rule can be generalized in nearly every aspect of the life. You do exercise and will be rewarded by getting a good shape and a healthy state. Even in a broader point of view, men polluted the environment and they punished by many disease and difficulties. Did they pay attention to this rule, they would think more about what they did. Admittedly, we cannot ignore the fact that there are enormous cases that we are interested that have nothing about money, namely sacrifice, patriotism, faith, religion and mush more .But if we scrutinize it, we found out the aforementioned law again rules. The difference is, this time the reward is getting mental satisfaction instead of worldly ones.

Furthermore, in the learning process, that is the main goal of this method, it has been proved that the system of reward and punishment is the way our brain follows. In fact, the synaptic connection forms in the brain when it get some rewards. Even in Artificial Intelligence that is a cutting-edge branch of computer science discipline, scientist imitate the humans' brain and make artificial neural networks that is the basis for many the-state-of-the-art issues like computer vision and voice recognition and many more. These artificial neural networks act exactly on the basis of the system of reward and punishment. Albeit mathematically rather than biologically. Therefore we see how effective the carrot and stick method could be used for learning process.

To sum up, after all factors being taken into consideration, we might come to a conclusion that the advantageous of paying money to school-age children for good marks, surpass its disadvantageous. Albeit some psychological matters should be considered. We must always remember in this rapidly growing competitive world, success in educational career is a strong corner stone that one could stablish his brilliant future on it. As a result, parents whose ultimate goal is providing a booming and bustling future for their young, should implement such means to encourage them to study more and more.