Some people believe that the Earth is being harmed by human activity. Others feel that human activity makes the Earth a better place to live. What is your opinion?

With the progress of our technology and the evolution of our civilization people become careless. Nowadays, humans are focused on their personal problems and as result they ignore Earth's problems. This situation is getting worse when human activities harm Earth. Also, we cannot neglect the existence of non governmental organizations like Greenpeace formed by volunteers which are trying to protect the Earth. However, I strongly believe that human's impact on this planet is catastrophic.

First of all, there is no doubt that pollution is a side effect of technology. In order to be more specific, factories and means of transportation are not friendly to the environment. Because while they are in use they produce toxic gasses which pollute the atmosphere. For example, the ozone's hole which is one of the more important problems of our century was caused by these gasses. However, the problem is not merely the destruction of the atmosphere. These gasses contribute to the increase of the Earth's temperature. Which is responsible for climate changes and the desertification of many areas.

Secondly, on some occasions humans damage this planet even by accident. For example, recently a nuclear reactor was exploded in Japan despite their knowledge and their efforts to prevent something like this. No one could anticipate the side effects of this accident. Even right now there are high ratio of radioactivity in this area which is harmful for living organisms. Because of that one can observe that many animals have been extinct in places where radioactive accidents occurred.

Last but not least, sometimes humans value their profit more than nature. For instance, Amazon's forest has been damaged since the previous decade. People are cutting down numerous amount of tree without planting new in order to satisfy their need for wood. However, decrease of oxygen is inevitable because oxygen is a product of the process of photosynthesis.

To summarize, all the previous arguments demonstrate the adversely affect of human actions on Earth. However, in my opinion humanity is into a greater danger because of our activities.