Some people believe that success in life comes from taking risks or chances. Others believe that success results from careful planning. In your opinion, what does success come from? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Several people may hold a notion that success comes with taking risks. However, I personally believe that planning is an effective strategy that leads to success. I will address two different benefits of careful planning in this essay. In support of my argument, an example is demonstrated in each paragraph.

The first lucrative aspect of planning is a phenomenon that I call "Small Rewards". Morale plays a significant role in all humans' endeavors and small rewards are there to preserve and boost it. After setting a goal in the planning approach, you have to design a roadmap that suits your goals and resources. You should divide your success road into different segments. After finishing each segment, which is called a milestone, you should reward and praise yourself. This idea has a marvelous impact on your morale. Another advantage of small rewards is that you can feel your progress through the time. You can perceive that you are achieving small goals one after the other and this is a delightful feeling, a feeling of satisfaction and pleasure. For example, I once had a very hard math lesson at the university and I was not ready enough for its final exam. I was worried due to the proximity of the exam and after a consultation session, I realized that I need to develop a roadmap and follow it. There were ten chapters that I had to study and in my plan, I included small rewards after completing each chapter. The rewards were watching an episode of friends series, or a video call with my close friends. I felt energetic when starting the reading of each new section and this enhanced my studying quality and I managed to obtain an exceptional mark on the exam.

The next benefit of planning is resource management. Many goals may seem unrealistic at first due to lack of resources, such as time and materials. This feeling may jeopardize your success. When devising a plan, you need to list down the prerequisites the goal needs, and the resources that you possess. In this way, you will have a thorough understanding of your resources and you can come up with an appropriate plan that fulfills your objectives. For instance, I once had to give a lecture on an algorithm topic. I had prepared a considerable amount of material and my slides were ready. Before my lecture begins, the instructor informed me that my time has been reduced from 30 to 20 minutes and I only had some minutes to change my slides. I wrote down the contents of my talk, omitted less important captions, and assigned an approximate time to each of the remaining ones. After the lecture, the instructor and students were all amazed. The key to my success was just managing my resources efficiently.

In conclusion, I reckon success comes from careful planning. I explained two lucrative outcomes of planning, namely small rewards for enhancing morale, and resource management. I believe that these two phenomena are vital for anyone in the pursuit of success.