Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun to play games or sports. Others believe that it is best to use that time to do things together that are related to schoolwork. Which of the two approaches do you prefer?

Nowadays, parents spend less time with their children as they are busier. The controversial question is that how they can spend the rest of their time with them. In my opinion, if they do activities such as doing sports or playing games, it would be so useful for children.

Although I believe that students need their parent’s support for school-work, it seems that children would not enjoy it very much. In fact, if parents decide to spend their leisure time for helping their children with school activities, their role shift to a teacher. It would have a bad influence on children’s minds. For example, my cousin is 8 years old. His parents try to help him in school-work. Although the result shows that he is a good student, his relation is formal with his parents. In fact, he does not have a friendly relationship with them. He always complains that he has a second school in the house.

Second, children try to find different ways to have a deep connection with parents. Activities such as playing games are funny and energetic, which attracts kids. So if parents do such an activities, they would make a good relationship with their children. Also, children like to talk about these stuff with their friends. For instance, one time I want to bring back my little sister from the school. She told me that today one of my friends talked about going to the picnic with her parents and they played a lot. Her big question was that why we do not go out like my friend. She said I like to come and explain these stuff for my friends. Therefore, making good relation with children, would increase their confidence among their friends and make them more social.

Third, technology is going to replace everything in the society include relationships. If children not having fun with their parents, they would prefer to spend this time with cell-phones or tablets. So it is better that parents provide fun activities to keep them away. Psychologists believe that working a lot with these devices might destroy children’s creativity. Besides, playing games even help children to learn their school works better. Sometimes, parents can even help them doing homework as a game, which is so helpful.

Considering the arguments in favor and contrast of the sufficient behavior with students, I personally prefer to do fun activities with my kids.