Some people like to buy books to read, others like to borrow books from libraries or from other people. Compare the advantages of these two ways of reading. Which do you prefer? Why?

Reading is an essential need for majority of people. Nowadays it is not difficult to find books: one can purchase them from stores, other can take them from a library. Both ways have advantages and it is apt for people to decide which way is more convenient for them.

On one side, new books are more alluring; they have smell of the printer and no one has owned them before. There are special editions, especially if it is the first one, of books which people want to have at home and reread them. A good illustration is my friend’s collection of special editions of Harry Potter. She was passionate to buy all parts, because they were selling one after another, not all at once, so she was going back to the store as often as she could. As a result she now has the complete special edition Harry Potter collection. Moreover, she has a special shelf for these books. As you can see, purchasing new books worth it if you want to have the first edition collection at home.

On the other hand, borrowing books from libraries or from friends can help save space in a house. In my parent’s time it was a trend to keep huge library at home, there were a plethora of shelves with variety of books alongside walls. Nowadays we do not follow this tradition, furthermore, open space is more valuable in apartments. For example, if I want to read I simply go to the library and borrow books. Usually, my family read more than 20 books a month. Accordingly, we would be out of space at home if we bought each book. Consequently, it is more reasonable to save place by borrowing books from libraries instead of purchasing them.

As for me, I prefer to borrow books from library, inasmuch as I read a lot and study with a myriad of tutorials. There is no extra space in my home to keep all this literature. Thus it is wise for me just take and return books to the library.