Some people suggest working from home to decrease city traffic. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Use specific reasons and examples in your opinion.

It is certainly true that traffic in cities throughout the world has become a major problem. Especially in big cities, population growth causes numerous problems for people which also includes traffic congestion. According to me, we need to prepare a strategy in order to reduce the number of vehicles but suggesting people work from home is not feasible. I will elaborate on my reasons in the ensuing paragraphs.

First, instead of insisting on working from home, we actually have a choice by encouraging the people to carpool when they are traveling to their workplace. This indeed has an additional contribution as it indirectly reduces the amount of carbon dioxide floating in the air. Moreover, by reducing the number of cars on the roads will also have a major impact on air and noise pollution. For example, because of increasing air pollution in Delhi, people decided to carpool to reduce pollution.

Second, rather than working from home, hiring a private tutor for children, we should convince people to make alternative choices of using public transport. People are not using public transport because it’s the frequency of availability is less and not even comfortable. With a proper investment from government and effective contribution from people to abandon their private cars, we can step effectively to solve this problem. For instance, Singapore government controls numbers of the car possessed by people. Other people have to use public transportation.

Lastly, all professionals cannot work from home. For example, I am a physical therapist and I can not work from home. I have to treat patients and it requires my physical presence with a patient to examine the patient condition. Likewise, various other professionals require their physical presence at the workplace, such as doctors, nurses, cleaners, etc.

Let’s put in a nutshell, traffic problem can be resolved by improving public transport and suggesting people for carpool. I strongly believe that the suggestion of working from home is not a solution to the traffic issue.