College years are the best time in a person’s life. Do you agree or disagree with the statement.

I disagree that college years are the best time in a person’s life. Admittedly, college often corresponds with a time when people are young, healthy and physically strong, and those attributes are highly regarded in Western cultures; however, the college years must also be viewed as a period of high stress and a certain uncomfortable dependence.

Stress converges on college students from many directions. First, there is the pressure to choose a major field of study and, ultimately to select a career, choices that will affect the rest of their lives. These choices often coincide with another life choice the selection of a marriage partner. In combination, the stress associated with such important decisions can be very high. Second, there is the daily stress of the competition in the classroom, exacerbation by standing up too late studying for tests, preparing papers, and reading assignments. It is well documented that college students tend to gain weight and suffer from many stress-related illnesses.

In addition to a stressful environment, most college students are not financially independent. Many rely on their families for funding, a circumstance that is often uncomfortable for young adults. Asking for money usually requires an explanation of why it is needed. In other words, financial dependence on college results in dependence in other areas of life at a time when young people are beginning to think for themselves and are old enough to be independent. Besides the environment involved in negotiating themselves and are old enough to be independent. Besides the embarrassment involved in negotiating for necessities, there is often a strict budget. For some students, there is also a debt to repay.

As a college student myself, I view this time of life as an opportunity to prepare for the next, and more important, stage of life, when I am independent and productive. I am eager to begin working and earning my own way. I look forward to the years after college with the hope that the best is yet to be.