Some people think that advertising plays a positive role, whereas others refer to its negative impact. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that advertisements lure us to purchase goods that are not of necessity. Others are of the view that advertising has a positive role to play in modem society, helping us choose between competing goods. In my opinion, strongly believe that advertising encourages consumers to buy unwanted items for three compelling reasons.

To begin with, advertising creates unrealistic expectations about products with exaggerated and misleading claims. For instance, advertisements for prescription drugs create unrealistic expectations about the effectiveness of the drugs and its side-effects. In these kinds of advertisements, the visual images only show healthy, happy people. It never truly shows the actual downside effects of the drug. Similarity, beauty and health products may not live up to their promises, resulting in wasted consumer dollars. Disclaimers are often hidden in very small print on product packaging and in out-of-the way spots in ads.

Secondly, multinational corporations create meticulously crafted ads to entice consumers to purchase their products. For instance, fast food chain McDonald's advertising artefacts tries to lure children with toys and playroom in order to sell kid's meal. Moreover, vigorous advertising campaigns are promoted across plethora of channels such as TV, billboards, online and so on to grab consumer attention to purchase goods that may be of no need to them. Consequently, people become more materialistic as advertising compounds their desire to own more items.

Lastly, people cannot just choose to ignore advertising because advertisers use many underhand methods to get their message across. Posters have attention grabbing words, or provocative pictures. Furthermore, some advertisements today are even being, hidden in what seem like pieces or art or public information. As a consequence, people don't realise they are being marketed to. By targeting people's unconscious thoughts, adverts are a form of brainwashing that take away people's freedoms to make ‘choices.

To conclude, I am totally convinced that advertisement is a tricky but efficient tool which is used to manipulate public's opinions making them obtain more and more goods often unnecessary. To avoid excessive spending and sense of disappointment after shopping we all really need to analyse and compare different sources of information besides advertising.