Some people think historical sites should be open to the general public, but others think historical sites should only be open to experts and researchers. Which one do you think is better?

In this modern day and age, historical sites are more at risk of devastation due to the lack of responsibility of individuals in terms of protecting the sites. The importance in this regard often leads to serious controversies as to whether everyone should be able to have access to historical sites or it should be open to experts and researchers only. Personally, though, I utterly subscribe to this idea that perhaps a thoughtful combination of both works the best. To discuss this, there are several perspectives, two of dominant which, are explained in detail in the following.

First and foremost, history is for everyone and all people are entitled to know about their past and acknowledge who their ancestors were, what they valued the most, where do they come from, and what their origin is. In other words, who they truly are. Nowadays, more and more people, especially adolescents are at risk of losing their identity. This stems from the fact that thanks to social media, they spend most of their time on their phones and laptops and put no time and effort into thinking thoroughly to find answers to the aforementioned questions. A recent research conducted at the Sharif University of Technology yields several statistics one of which suggests that it is projected that three out of five youngsters under the age of twenty-five, are tremendously susceptible to being depressed in their mid-thirties because of a possible loss in the sense of identity. Encouraging young adults to pay a visit to historical sites may have a positive contribution to reversing the trend and precluding individuals to pay a visit to these places does not do any good in this regard.

On the other hand, it goes without saying that unfortunately, due to lack of enough education, there are people who have this disposition towards damaging the remnants of historical sites. The reason behind this is beyond the scope of this essay but different organizations, on top of them the governments should snap into action as quickly as possible if they want to preserve these sites. After all, historical sites play a critical role in terms of introducing nations to the world and countries can make a good profit by attracting tourists. A good idea would be holding educational classes and giving individuals certificates that indicate a certain person is certified to visit historical sites and has promised not to damage the sites in any way. If violated, he would be banned for life from visiting historical sites all around the world. This might flatline the amount of harm that careless people have had to these sites over the course of the past few years.

To wrap it up, contemplating on what was discussed above, although history is for all people and individuals possess this right to pay a visit to historical sites, in order to mitigate the damage that has been caused by uneducated and careless people, it is recommended for the governments and the organizations in charge of protecting historical sites to raise the awareness of members of societies regarding the importance of saving historical sites.