Some people think that human needs for farmland, housing, and industry are more important than saving land for endangered animals. Do you agree or disagree with this point of view? Why or why not? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Along with the progress of human civilization and the complexity of the society, it has become almost unavoidable to use lands for human needs, giving rise to the issue of whether it is more important to use lands for human needs than saving it for endangered animals or not. Logically, people who grew up from diverse environments would certainly maintain various understandings towards such issue but according to my rationale, it is important to save lands for endangered animals. With intensive considerations, numerous bases are divulged to support the claim.

First of all, lands are important for the survival of all the animals. Lands provide sustenance to variety of animals, therefore, when one species overuse lands, other species will not be able to use and gradually extinct. The main problem arise from the extinction of certain species, since the animals in certain area are intertwined, when one animal extincts, it affects the whole ecosystem and might lead to other negative consequences to whole ecosystem, especially in food chain. The example of this situation could be seen in the incident happened in the island located near south Korea. There was one bird species named blue Chigal in the island which served as a key species for the ecosystem of the island. However, due to the habitat destruction caused by humans who used the land for their residential places, the bird population decreased drastically. Since the birds were the main sources of other predators and worked as a hunter that maintained other population in the lower classes, the decline of Chigal bird cause problem in the whole ecosystem of the island. As a consequence, not only the Chigal bird population is decreased, but also other animal species who relied on Chigal bird disappeared, leading to damage in overall ecosystem. Therefore, since lands are crucial for the survival of all animals, the lands should not be exploited only for the human needs.

On top of that, humans have developed sophisticated skills that can satisfy human needs while saving lands for endangered animals. As time pass, mankind were able to achieve complex skills that enhanced the efficiency of the land they use compared to past centuries. One typical example of this skill is building of apartment. Apartment can accommodate thousands of people within limited area by adding extra floors vertically. Due to this skill, humans were able to satisfy their needs by using only small areas of the land. However, other animals do not have complicated skills like humans and therefore need large areas of land to live on. Thus, since humans have already have used enough lands and have skills to satisfy their wants with developed skills, it is important to save lands for other animals to live.

From the above substantiations and assessments, the fact that it is more important to save lands for endangered animals is much more convincing. Not only lands are important sources for animals to live in, but also, humans already have sophisticated skills to satisfy their needs while using small area of lands. Therefore, nothing in my mind regarding previous issue overshadow the ideas stated above.