Some people think that parents should plan their children’s leisure time carefully. Other people believe? those children should decide for themselves how to spend their free time, Which idea do you agree with?Give reasons for your choice.

Nowadays children are more mentally developed than before, as the society has been changed dramatically. Whether or not the parents decide how their children spend their free time has always been a controversial debate in society. I believe that these days children able to plan how to spend their leisure time effectively. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First, this century children are more aware than the past as everyone has easy access to the internet. Most of the children now have their personal devices, either their parents buy them or they receive them from school, which allows them to connect with the whole world. Therefore, their awareness is far advanced than before which gives them the chance to pick their own choices. My personal example is a compelling illustration of this. I have a 5-year-old smart boy. I bought him a tablet that has many educational applications which gives him a chance to explore a lot of aspects. Since he was aware of each one, he can decide which one is his favorite. My responsibility is to supervise what he is watching, as that is for his security. At the end of the day, he knows which one is beneficent and which one is just for fun, and he can compensate his time between all the available activities.

Secondly, I feel that parents should grow there children to be independent and responsible persons in the community. Giving the children a chance to choose how to spend their free time is an essential step to raise an independent human. I recently read an article in the New York Times about how to improve cognitive development in children. By giving them a chance to decide which game they want to play or how to play with it. For example, when the children decide to play with blocks, they can build either a tower or a house or just a wall, and so on. Indeed, this way will enhance their cognitive development which is important for their social life.

To sum up, the parent should allow their children to choose what they want to do in their leisure time. Then, they will raise a responsible people. Moreover, the children certainly smart enough to deal with their choices as they are more aware than in the past.