Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible. Other young adults prefer to live with their families for a longer time. Which of these situations do you think is better? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinio

The definition of independence differs from person to person. Independence might mean different things to different people like it might mean financial independence for some while it might mean freedom to take their own life decisions. Personally, I feel that young adults getting independence from their parents as soon as they are ready to tackle problems is ideal. Below are the reasons why i feel that living an independent life is essential for the personal growth of an individual.

Firstly, living independently and not relying on our parents tends to gives us experiences. These experiences can be positive or negative, but its the experiences that matter. When an individual is thrown in a problematic situation with no back up from parents, he has a lot many enriching experiences. Every individual has diverse learning from these situations and the implications of these decisions are very different and are based on the individual experiences.

Being independent teaches that only we are responsible for the decisions we take and the outcomes of those decisions. At no point can we blame parents or for that matter anyone for the happenings in our life. Its up to the individual to take decisions, learn from the mistakes and remember to never reoccur the same errors. So its essentially our understanding and thinking powers which lead to the outcomes of our lives. As examples there are multiple instances where the child feels that the parents have persuaded him/her to take up a course, university, profession, job etc when the individual is not happy. Such situations can be avoided by the independent, uninfluenced decisions of the being.

The feeling of satisfaction and pride on the positive outcomes of our decisions is immense. For example when an individual is able to move to another country for education purposes, away from his family, friends and the outcome of the effort is fruitful, where the person is able to lead a successful life thereafter, gives immense happiness to the individual.

Hence i would conclude by saying that when the person is capable enough to take the decisions then it is more effective to be independent from parents and explore the journey of life by themselves.