Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible. Other young adults prefer to live with their families for a longer time. Which of these situations do you think is better? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

It goes without saying that our families play an important role in our lives so many young adults would rather live with their family for a longer time. The other side of the coin is that it would be a better idea for children to be independent of their parents as soon as they can. I am of the latter opinion. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First and foremost young adults, who learned to be independent at an early time, are capable of taking up responsibilities. No matter how old they are, they all have to move out of our parents’ house sooner or later to go to the university or to start their own families. They will be the one that takes control of their own lives. Moreover, they will have many things to take into consideration like numerous bills to pay. As a result, they must acquire all the skills needed to live on their own and to be responsible for their lives. There is no better way to do that than to be independent since they were young. My own experience is a good example to illustrate this. When I was ten years old, I started to learn to become more self-reliant. I was taught the fundamental skills such as cooking meals or doing the laundry. As a result, I didn’t have a hard time familiarizing myself with the life in university which many of my friends had.

Furthermore, independent young people don’t bother their parents so much and they aren’t considered as the hard burden of their parents. Unfortunately, parents are getting older day by day and their aging results in continual tiredness and occasional sickness. Making them take care of their children only causes them to be more stressful and worn out. Therefore, young adults should let their parents have time to relax and enjoy their lives by being independent of them. For example, my parents, who are aging, tend to be tired now and then so I don’t want them to worry about me too much. Since I went to the university and lead an independent life, my parents have had more time for relaxation together because my dad doesn’t have to take me to school every day and my mom doesn’t need to tidy my room every morning anymore like they used to do. Without me at home, they are able to go on vacations more often and they won’t ever be stressed out because of worrying about me since they know that I can live on my own.

In conclusion, I truly believe that a young adult should live independently of their parents. Independence would teach young people to well-prepare to live alone. In addition, the independent youth don't make their parents worry about them every time.