Some young people have free time in the evenings after school or on days off the school. Which one of the following activities do you think would be most beneficial for young people (14-18 years) to do in their spare time? Why?

- Gaining practical work experience either at a part-time job or by the volunteering in the community

- Learning to play a sport

- Learning to play a musical instrument

Today’s life is full of comfort and spare time, especially for children. The schoolchildren have enough time to accrue new skills and knowledge or take some activities to enjoy and relax in their free time after school. I strongly believe that participating in volunteer work or a part-time job is the best option for kids. I will brief some reasons that validate my opinion.

To begin with, the experience is the most precious nowadays. The person who had some work before his education in the university holds better positions for admission than one who didn't. Why is that? The most important cause is that it shows some skills that are required for being a student; like being responsible for your own decisions and choices, skills of time management that means being able to deal with the school and assignments and work at the same time, and work experience by itself. The other side of the coin is that volunteering programs and part-time jobs help future students to appreciate the significance of their income and save money for school.

Combining work and high school is a reasonable thing to do; it lets people know if the chosen field is the right place for them. They will see the big picture of their future. Doing a particular work is the first step in understanding the whole job, all details of it, all struggles and possible issues that the person might face in the future. So, children will experience their job in real conditions and see if it fits their desires and skills. To make the right decision in their life – to chose their place in our big world, it could be hard when you don’t know how exactly the job you are eager to take looks like, feels like. This is the best way to know for sure if you would like this particular work or not. If you would then you know what skills and knowledge to improve to become an expert in the field.

It is obvious, that the advantage of choosing this way of spending the spare time for children weights more than learning the sport or the music. The work or volunteering programs bring more benefits and perspectives for their future career. It will open a lot of doors in the person’s life because knowing what to do in your life it is much better than just being between fields and wasting valuable time on the search.